Transient & Homelessness in Prague

IMG_0360BW
IMG_0361BW2

Transient/homeless people are not largely dispersed around Prague like they are in Austin. I’ve seen quite a few here, but not to the extent as I see in Austin. In Prague, they are usually alone on the streets. Their position is different than what I have seen where I live. I’ve noticed many people in this position kneel down often on a sidewalk. As they kneel, their heads, their eyes are pointed downward, towards the ground, where their face rests. Extended in front of their body are solely their arms, hands grasping a hat or a cup to collect any spare change a pedestrian may decide to toss away.

I start to wonder more about the person’s life, and how they got there. Prague has already been somewhat of an eye-opener. I went to Israel in December, and when I returned, I had a more optimistic outlook on different aspects of life/people around me. Maybe it’s just traveling, and being around a culture different than my own, but I feel like I’ll come back to America at the end of June the way I came back at the end of December. That’s a good feeling.
IMG_0363BW

2 thoughts on “Transient & Homelessness in Prague

  1. I absolutely love this blog entry! And the fact that you decided to have these photos in black and white. I’ve wondered the same thing– how the beggars of Prague have an outward sense of shame. It’s an interesting contrast between Austin’s homeless community and the the spotted individuals here.

  2. Dear Miriam,

    we would be very interested in using your photos in our project. Could you please contact me on my email so I could tell you more? Many sincere thanks! Best wishes, Tereza from Prague

Leave a comment