Summer Zoo Time

IMG_4633newMy days in Prague are numbered. Within a few days, I’ll be back in the Lone Star state in the US of A. While I’m ready to be back in Texas, I still have yet to see many things in Prague. I’ve been scrambling around trying to do and see as much as I can before it’s time to bid this city an adieu. Today I cooled off from the summer heat and Prague’s infamous absence of AC with an exciting trip to Aqua Palace, Prague’s indoor water park. I shall always remember today’s experience with the human rapids, especially. Yesterday, however, I was dying for a place like Aqua Palace. Some of my classmates and I visited Prague’s zoo. It was hot. Go figure. Seeing the animals was great though. I can’t remember the last time I was at a zoo before yesterday.

Although Prague has been rain free for a week or two, places like the zoo are still feeling the aftermath of the month’s earlier flooding. We did get to see a good number of animals, but multiple exhibits were blocked off and some animals had yet to return to their habitat. Some areas of the zoo actually have to be reconstructed because of the flooding damage.

I was a little disappointed that sections were still blocked off at the zoo, but I really did enjoy it. I loved how the entire place was set up. The orangutan area was placed within a dome-like structure, which inside was set up like a real rainforest. A hike up from the bird exhibits guided us to an overlooking view of the zebra and giraffe terrains. Along the pathway of the zoo awaited ponies for children to take a short pony ride. Finally, the elephant exhibit was grandly magnificent. Those elephants are living the good life in the Prague Zoo; let me tell you. The theme of the elephant exhibit was based around Indian culture, which already extremely fascinates me. I’m also very captivated by elephants, so the combination was really perfect for me. The entire elephant section also included some interactive areas, which is great for all the kids that run around the zoo. I really loved just climbing up the stairs to a platform and gazing at the majestic elephants.IMG_4606newIMG_4592new IMG_4569new

Leave a comment