It’s the final countdown! (Czech version)

IMG_4881newWell, it’s my last full day in Prague. I depart tomorrow (Wednesday) at 8:30 AM. People always say these kinds of trips will go by so fast, and I always think, “Naw, it’s not going by TOO fast.” And then the day like today comes, and here we are, packing suitcases, buying those last minute souvenirs, taking that one last photo of a street we’ve been down almost everyday for the past month. So now it hits me, how did this month just sweep by?

For two years, I waited for the right time for this study abroad trip. I thought it would be perfect for me. I’ve always wanted to travel to as many places as I could. Plus, to get school credit for taking pictures of a beautiful city, that just doesn’t get much better for a photojournalism major. And it has been perfect for me. I had built up so much anticipation for this trip, but I didn’t really know the kinds of sights I would see or the kinds of people I would meet. There are those moments when I turn a corner and BAM; an amazing view of the entire city opens up to me. Then those moments to look back on, hysterically laughing with people who I had never had a conversation with just a few weeks before. It’s an experience like none other, and I’m so glad I was able to do this study abroad with the people who ended up being my classmates and new friends.

As I prepare for my last day here in Prague, I notice that we’ve come full circle, this city and I. For the past week, it’s been hot and sunny and unlike Prague’s normal characteristics. Today and yesterday, however, the weather is back to how it was when I first arrived, chilly and rainy. In a way, it kind of feels like I’m back to the beginning of this trip, but it’s just the opposite. I pass by Czech strangers and stranger tourists and have just a little more knowledge about this place. I’m noticing different things, as opposed to trying to capture a picture of everything I see as I did during my first week.

So Prague, “it’s been real,” as the kids these days like to say. I’ve gotten to know you a little bit better. We’ve had our ups and down. You know I suffered from your abnormal/unexpected summer heat. You helped me have a better understanding of beer and a culture that can’t get enough of it. You showed me some natives who weren’t so happy-go-lucky. But hey, you allowed me to indulge in your heavenly sausage, and I thank you for that. I want you to know that I’ll always remember you. Whether I’m in the Lone Star state, or exploring the unknown, I will remember you. Just know Prague, you were my first. My first trip to Europe, that is, so you’ll always hold a special place in my mind and memory. Maybe one day I’ll return. I mean, it’s only fair. Until then, Prague, I will long for your sausage.

P.S. Give your people some ice cream. They’re a bit grumpy and I think ice cream could do the trick. Ice cream makes everyone happy, even the check out ladies at the Billa grocery store.  IMG_4856new

Leave a comment